So, Why Bother?

I’ve decided to skip doing a Foodie Friday post today so that I can continue the discussion I started yesterday (Measuring Success). I discussed how instead of focusing on how we look, we should start focusing on how we feel. Additionally, we should make every effort to love ourselves just as we are. So, that brings us to the question of; why bother? If we love the way we are in the present, why bother getting into shape or improving any aspect of our lives at all? After all, running is exhausting, and resource consuming. ‘m sure we all have our own reasons for doing what we do. Here are mine.

1. My Health

This past Mother’s Day was my first Mother’s Day as a mom. It was a fairly relaxing day… until I got a call from my own mother. Instead of talking about our plans to go out to dinner, she called to tell me that my grandfather had passed away. It wasn’t an unexpected death. He was 90 years old and suffered from a stroke only a week and a half earlier. Regardless, it was still incredibly sad to hear. My mother tried to hide her heartbreak- but like me, she lacks a poker-face. What made his passing that much more upsetting was that the family suffered the loss of my older cousin Joby less than two months early. At age 36, he unexpectedly passed away from a heart attack. About twenty years earlier, his father also passed away from a heart attack. Long story short, cardio-vascular disease and stroke runs on both sides of my family. Running and staying in shape helps to mitigate the likely hood of this conditions popping up early.

2. My Family

To jump off from the last point about my health… My family can’t afford to have me in the hospital because I didn’t take care of myself. The idea of my husband having to take care of a 3-month old and a sick wife is terrifying. My husband is my rock, and I love him way too much to put him through something like that. Josh and my daughter motivate me to do better. Not because they think that I need to, but because I want to be the best wife and mother I can. Part of being able to be at my best is keeping my sanity. Mercy is by-and-large a very easy going baby. She loves to smile and laugh. However, some days are harder than others. Running helps me to be my best for them.

3. Inner Peace

An old Staff Sergeant I used to know told me that he would talk to Gd while he was running. Some people might say that he was a little nutty. Perhaps he was. But, I do think he was on to something. When I went running yesterday, I gave it a shot. It was pretty amazing. Running can almost be a form of meditation. Even when I am feeling haggard and exhausted, a relaxing run tends to make feel more like myself. If you’ve ever ran when the rain is pouring down, it feels like a cleansing.

4. My Career

My first word of advice to anyone joining any military branch in any country is that, if you are truly serious about this type of commitment; you better like to run and do push-ups. You have to have the speed, endurance and strength to not drop out of road marches, to engage the enemy and to complete missions. In most military schools, you will spend a good chunk of that time running. I can’t properly do my job as a soldier unless I can carry my own weight. That’s just a fact of life for soldiers.

So, what motivates you to stay in shape? Fill me in by leaving a comment in the comments section. If you enjoyed this post, use the buttons below to share the love vis social media. For workouts, recipes and other randomness; follow JerseyGirlRun on Twitter. Also, if you enjoyed this post, hit the like button to let me know!. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “So, Why Bother?

Leave a Reply

