Mercy’s Arrival + Randomness

Mercy’s Arrival

After two false alarms, I finally went into labor on February 13th. The original plan was to be induced the next Sunday and to deliver her the good old fashioned way. However, life always seems to have plans in store that you don’t quite expect. I was in labor with her for 24hrs. During that time, I had to deal with an epidural that didn’t work well. That was not pleasant to say the least. The doctors finally decided that it was time to take me in for a c-section because I developed a fever, and on top of that Mercy’s heart rate jumped to 190 BPM and stayed there. I tried to ask to just give me more time… but that really wasn’t an option.

But it was all worth it.

Image

Because her smile lights up my world. ❤

She weighed 8.5 lbs. and was 20.5 in and was born on Valentine’s Day at 6:28AM. So, right now we’re at Operation Mercy; B-Day + 9. For such a small girl, she has a huge personality. To top it off, Mercy is such a good baby! She only really cries if she needs to be changed, or is hungry. 😀 Mercy only seems to fuss when we put her in outfits… which is probably pretty normal.

Randomness

Naomi (a good friend of Josh’s) gave us a jogging stroller! It wasn’t just any jogging stroller, it was the Baby Trend ELX Expedition Stroller. For those of you that are not too familiar with jogging strollers… this is a top of the line stroller. Rather than having small plastic wheels; the wheels in this stroller has large, inflatable tires. This makes for a smoother ride for the baby. Additionally, it has speakers on it, which means that I can listen to music without headphones. This is a really great safety feature because it allows me to be more aware of what’s around me. Needless to say… I was shocked…  and did not know what to say. All I could do… was stare at the box in disbelief and constantly thank her and her husband. I really didn’t see that coming. It was one of those things that I put on the baby registry that I didn’t think I would get. I am that much more excited about getting back on the road… which won’t happen for at least another 5 weeks or so. :/

Image

 

I have also finally gotten my foot taken care of–I have planters warts on the bottom of my left foot. They didn’t hurt. It was more of an annoyance than anything considering I walked the .8 mi to the doctor’s office. Seeing that I had a c-section only 9 days ago… This is great progress.The doctor said because I have avoided the problem for so long, surgery isn’t an option. Instead, we are going to go with the freezing method. It kind of hurt, but since experiencing labor pain… most other things just don’t phase me the way thy might have in the past. I walked home with no problem. My husband swore up and down that he was going to get a call from me, begging him to pick me up. It felt good to not have to do that. I was happy to be outside and I wished that my small walk didn’t have to end so soon. I just hope the treatments start to work . I normally hate going to see the doctor and will have have to until this goes away. :/ And that makes me a Sad Panda… Womp Womp.

 

 

Leave a Reply

