Updates on Mercy & I + Old News: Fit Mom

Lifeeeee!

I haven’t written for a while. It’s mostly because I haven’t done too much that has been running related for much of my pregnancy. Mercy is due on Feb 8th, which is about two weeks from now 🙂 This also means that so long as everything goes relatively smoothly, I could be out running two weeks after giving birth! So, now is just as good a time as any to get back to writing about running/ working out. I even got a new pair of Nike sneakers for when I can get out there 🙂

Image

 

Approaching 0-hour!

Image

New Kicks! Funny enough, my husband has the same pair except in blue!

Fit Mom

I know that Fit Mom: Maria Kang hasn’t been in the news for a few months. But, I think just going over this old piece of news would be a good way for me to bounce back into writing. A lot of people have said a lot of things about Maria Kang. The internet has dubbed her everything from a bully to an inspiration because of her famous/ infamous “No Excuse” meme she created. I decided to actually read her blog. I figured that it would put that particular meme into context. Perhaps, she wasn’t a bully… maybe she just isn’t so great at marketing. What I found was way worse. At best: she isn’t a positive motivational fitness blogger. Rather, she’s the typical high school bully. At worst: she is an embodiment of everything that is WRONG in how Western women define themselves.

Image

The first thing that really caught my attention was how harsh she was to her own sister. on the internet. She openly called her obese and the only picture she had to back her accusation up with was a picture of her sitting down at a crowded table, so you can’t even see her body. Personally, I thought that her sister looked really pretty.  At this point, I decided that it would be fair to be a bit more critical about what she was writing since she was pretty critical in how she judged her sister.

Image

Ms. Kang then goes on to discuss the death of her father. To be honest, it was sad to read. But then again, isn’t it always sad to read about death? She ends the blurb about her father by saying,”I don’t want any child to cry over their parent’s hospital bed hoping they will wake up. Because that’s what I’ve done.” I’m sorry about your loss Ms. Kang, but that is the natural order of things. As a parent, I hope that my daughter lives longer than my husband and I. What IS unnatural is when a parent looses a child… not the other way around. On top of that she talks about how she suffered from bulimia, owns her own business and has three boys. I just don’t think that she puts herself in a position to ask her readers for compassion when she seriously lacks the art of giving compassion.

I say that she really lacks compassion mostly because her blog posts are really just rants about how she is disgusted with people who aren’t as fit as she is. Seriously. She goes on and on and on about how the memes about loving your body even if its more on the round side is what is destroying society… actually Ms. Kang it is the other way around.

I have really meditated about raising my daughter in a world that judges women almost exclusively on how they look. I honestly think that Ms. Kang has a few major flaws in how her thought process.

1. Ms. Kang was/ is a fitness model. That means that fitness is a part of her professional life. So, she isn’t just a “regular” mom. I am going to put myself in the same boat. As I have said over and over again though out my posts; being physically fit is a part of my job as a soldier. So, for me, the need to run isn’t just driven by my enjoyment of running. It’s a part of my job. As a result, it is just more of a priority to work out; because down-range lives depend on it. Also, heart disease and diabetes runs on both sides of my family. Because my grandparents have lived a heathy lifestyle, they have either lived to be close to 100 years old or they are still alive and kicking. I don’t want my daughter to feel that she has to look a certain way in order to feel loved and accepted. I want her to understand that she will always be loved and that being healthy is how she can live a good, strong life. 

2. By saying “What’s your excuse?”, she is telling women of the internet that she is the definition of beauty. I am going to have to disagree. I don’t think that parading yourself around the internet in skimpy outfits is what makes a woman beautiful. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great that she is in amazing shape and that she is confident enough to show off her body like that. But, that isn’t real beauty. I am going to take it that her definition of beauty has been shaped from being in beauty pageants. It just would have been more inspiring to hear a woman discuss how amazing it feels when you realize that you can push yourself to do more than all things that are real and possible and that the biggest way to grown is to acknowledge your limits and then surpass them. Perhaps putting people down is a bit easier because it doesn’t take too much thought or compassion to put other people down.

Image

I just hope I can raise my daughter to realize that regardless of weight, body type, physical ability or skin tone; that all women are beautiful. ❤

Please let me know what you think! Am I being too harsh?

3 thoughts on “Updates on Mercy & I + Old News: Fit Mom

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post! First of all, congratulations! I truly hope that your labor goes smoothly and that your baby girl is healthy. Second of all, for some reason I’ve never heard of Maria Kang, however, everything that you wrote completely resonates with me. I think it’s wrong to be a bully, especially of your own sister, and to think that she is IT because of certain things she has accomplished. I mean, she’s got looks and she seems to be fairly in shape, so good for her of that’s what floats her boat. As far as I know there is no solid definition of happiness and that to each its own. So to judge people based on their choices is simply inconsiderate and childish.

    PS. You might want to look into running after labor. I read somewhere that you should wait for about 6-8 weeks, but then I might be mistaken because it could be case by case. But still be carefull, as your body has changed and there might be more ‘presure/impact’ on your lower back and hips. ❤

    xoxo
    Olena

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed reading that post 🙂 I’ve heard of women getting the a-ok for exercise within 2 weeks. But then again, I have been told over and over again that every woman is different and every pregnancy is different. I’m just going to pray for the best 🙂 Again, ty for all of your positive thoughts Olena. I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

