My New Journey as a Wife & Mom on the Run <3

I haven’t gone on a run or written anything on this blog for a few months. Mostly, because my life has been nothing short of crazy… of the pleasant variety ๐Ÿ™‚

I found out about three months ago that I was pregnant with my little peanut. Needless to say that I was scared out of mind (and I still am a bit scared). I tried to ignore the whole issue completely. I didn’t want to tell anybody and I didn’t want to go to a doctor. I broke down and told Josh. He took the news much better than I anticipated. ๐Ÿ™‚ Eventually, he got sick of my negative mentality and had me go to the doctor. Unfortunately for me, this doctor was nothing less than an utter prick. He was pretty judgmental. I then asked him if I was healthy enough to keep doing light jogs, and he wouldn’t give me an answer. Awesome. Until I got some type of answer if the baby was healthy, I wasn’t going to do anything.

I made an appointment for our first ultrasound. It was the most awe- inspiring experience of my life. We got a really good image of our little peanut. Then, the technician said she wanted to get a better picture. Of course, that’s when the fetus started moving around a lot. I was half tempted to scald it, haha. The most important news we got was that the baby was perfectly healthy. The tech wasn’t able to determine the sex yet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We plan on finding out, but we’re going to keep it as a big suprise for everyone else ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here’s the baby as of the 23rd of July (11 weeks & 3 days old).

Due Date: February 8, 2014

Image

ย 

We both had marriage on our minds. I ended up popping the question first. And he said,”Yes.” ๐Ÿ˜€ I know, it’s a bit untraditional. As it happens we are a tradition- adverse couple. Josh and I picked out a really pretty 3-stone diamond ring; one for me, one for him, one for peanut. โค We’re set to have a civil ceremony on August 15th and a formal Catholic Mass on October 4, 2014. I’m all types of excited and nervous. ๐Ÿ˜€ย 

Image

ย 

I haven’t gone running as of late just because I have been feeling fatigued and generally blah. To top it off, yesterday I had muscle spasms in my left shoulder. However, I finally came to the realization that I am going to need to keep active if I want to minimize my postpartum recovery time. ย My Army reserve unit is only giving me so much time to get back into fighting condition before I have to go to re-class school for 38B and Airborne school.ย 

Today has been a different story. I feel amazing; no fatigue and no shoulder pain. ย So, I decided that I’m going to go on a short jog (2 mi. un-timed) since it’s nice and cool outside ๐Ÿ™‚ Josh has been overwhelmingly supportive. He still wants me to participate in races (after the baby is born of course) and he still wants me to continue pursuing my bachelor’s degree in engineering. I couldn’t be more blessed. โค

Leave a Reply

