Runners Annonymous

My name is Mary and I am addicted to running. I tried to stop running for the past two weeks. However, I seemed to have relapsed yesterday evening.

I had a particularly rough day yesterday. I was planning on doing some consulting work for a grassroots campaign up in North Jersey. The candidate called me about how the campaign was going worst than I imagined. So, I have to do a conference call on Monday to try to remedy the issues and to also keep my clients.

To top it off, I had a huge argument with my mum. My mum and I never fight and by the end of it, I really felt hurt. I was thinking about running that day. But, I was so upset that I even cancelled a meeting. I didn’t go grocery shopping either. I just felt too emotionally and physically drained to do anything. I ended up spending most of the afternoon curled up on the couch. I seemed to have every excuse to not go running.

Then my boyfriend (Josh) came home. Like the amazing guy he is, we talked about what was bothering me. Then, while he was making dinner I took a short walk over to the grocery store to pick up a bottle of wine and some iced tea. We watched the Philly’s game and ate dinner. Unfortunately, it was a very painful game to watch.

After about an hour, Josh said,”Ok soldier, it’s time to go running.” At this point, I had intended to finish up the night by scarfing down the rest of the chocolate chip cookies. But of course, he got me to go do a short 2 mile run.

After not running for so long…. I thought I wasn’t going to make it. Then I remembered to control my breathing and not focus on moving fast.. But to just focus on keeping my legs moving. By the time I hit the final half of my run, I felt a lot better. I even felt as though i had hit the one mile mark sooner than i thought I would.

I came back home and Josh was a bit shocked at how fast I had finished. He said it took me about 15 mins. It definitely wasn’t my best time… And I certainly did not go all out. However, 15 mins would be enough for me to get 100/100 points for the run on the apft.

Josh ended up getting me to do sit-ups and push ups as well. I finally decided that he is my biggest enabler. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

