How do You do it?

When I first started this blog a few months ago, I was in pretty poor shape. And when I mean pretty poor… I actually mean VERY poor shape. Some people may think that I’m just very harsh on myself. However, I can assure you that I am not. It had gotten to the point where I was morbidly obese, and completely miserable. Now, I’m get through 20 miles without stopping. My friends and co-workers constantly ask me, “How do you do it?” Here’s how:

Shortly before starting this blog, I returned to my home state of New Jersey after leaving my consulting gig in Ohio. I hated the job and the people I worked with…. But I probably hated failure even more. So, I thought of the one activity that always made me feel happy. For me, this activity has always been running.

After a nine hour drive across Ohio and Pennslvania, I needed a good run. I took my suitcases in the house, unpacked my running shoes and hit the pavement. I never had the opportunity to run in Ohio because I worked 16 hour days every single day with no days off. So, for the first 3/4 mi. I felt like I was flying. Then, I felt like walking death.

I felt very discouraged. I was thinking, “Great…. Not only did this consulting gig not go well, but now I suck at running. Fan-flipping-tastic…”. Then, I thought about what an old professor had said to me during undergrad, which was to always push a little harder than you did the day before. This is where my running journey began again for me. The next day, I pushed myself to 1 mile and would add a little more to that every day. After a while, I was beginning to feel like myself again.

In accordance with the laws of attraction, one healthy decision led to another. I stopped smoking, drinking and eating meat. I also tried to educate myself further on how to be a better, stronger runner. The most interesting thing I have found out is that running created a type of resiliency in individuals and similarly resilient people tend to be runners. This type of resiliency is fostered by the drive to push through pain and discomfort in order to achieve a particular goal. Moreover, this tendency to push on naturally overflows into other aspects of life like work and school. Am I more resilient than my non-runner friends? Not necessarily. However, what I will say is that running is helping to foster that trait in me. It’s that inner strength that we all posses. Some of us tap into it and others don’t.

That’s how I do it. I just push myself a little harder every day. It is really that simple.

Leave a Reply

