Getting back on track from Multiple Setbacks

The Road So Far

I haven’t written for about three weeks because I’ve been jumbling my civilian job, Army Combatives Level 2 training, injuries sustained from training, fundraising for Operation Home front, and …writer’s block. Because of the physical demands of combatives level 2 training, I had to stop running during the two weeks. As a runner, that was the hardest thing everrrr. Especially when you know that you have an event in less than a month.

So, I ran 2, then 4, then 6 miles over this past week. Later on today I’m going for 8 miles. I’m going to keep this up until I get back to where I was before I had to take the hiatus (16.6 miles). The other day when I went 6 miles, I was thinking about how much training I’ve missed cumulatively. It’s a shocking 4 weeks. I missed 3 weeks because of combatives training (level 1 & 2) and about another week because of injuries sustained from both combatives training and running.

A lot of people would have given up after missing that much training. And to be honest, there are days when I really would prefer to stay in instead. But the important thing is to keep getting back on the track. From what I’ve experienced, it’s better if you take breaks when you have to and to then get back on course, than to push yourself too hard too fast and to get injured.

The Road Ahead

I was looking at my calendar to see what races I’ve signed up for so that I could figure out my future training schedule. I have a lot of events planned for this year. Sometimes, I feel like the “Marty McFly” of running. That is, I don’t like to be called a chicken (or feel like a chicken) for not accepting a running challenge… Especially from my old Drill Sergeant. It’s gotten to the point where I have almost 2 races a month until Vigil Crest. That’s a lot to cram in. Moreover, it makes planning an effective training schedule near impossible. I’m really not sure what to do.

The obvious solution would be to drop some of the events. But, I just don’t want to back down. I was talking to my mum about this situation. She really put in perspective. My mum explained that it doesn’t make sense to accept challenges from someone who signs up for 8 Spartan Races in the course of one weekend. He has a ridiculous amount of races under his belt and as an “amiture” (and I use that term loosely) he’s nationally ranked.

The key here seems to be to respect my own limits and not allow these races to take me. The goal at the end of the road is be able to complete the Virgil Crest 50 mile Ultra Marathon without sustaining too many more injuries to my ankles and back. So, I just need keep everything in perspective by considering the long term effects of signing up for too many races.

Leave a Reply

