The Horror of it All!: My Upcoming Running Events

Hey everyone. I have a seriously legit reason for not writing this week…. Army Combatives Training. It was much more intense than I expected. On top of it, I had to drive two hours to get to my unit and two hours back after getting my rear end handed to me by 7 guys for 10-12 hours every day. It was pretty exhausting. However, it was very much worth it. I took myself out of my comfort zone and I’m motivated to keep going over the moves we learned and to also move onto level 2.

Because I was so sore and exhausted…. I did not run at all this week. That is some serious bad news bears. I have only 70 days for the April Fools Half Marathon and it’s going to get pretty intense very fast after that. How? Well, here’s what I’ve signed myself up for:

April 7, 2013: Atlantic City April Fools Half Marathon (13.1 mi)
May 5, 2013: New Jersey Marathon (26.2 mi)
September 10, 2013: Virgil Crest Ultra Marathon (50 mi)
October 9,2013: Diva Half Marathon (13.1 mi) with Kachira

I also promised my friend Chris that I would do an adventure race with him. I just have to ask him to refresh me on the details. But the point is, that my running schedule is getting filled up quickly. Even what I have on my plate now is seriously stretching my abilities as a runner to the absolute limits. But, I’m not a quitter. The only reason I would drop any of these events is if my military duties fell on the same day as one of these events. So far, I’m in the clear.

I also can’t run for at least a few days because it snowed and I don’t have the proper running shoes to run through the snow. So until then, I’m just going to be doing interval training. I would just rather not crack my face open on the ice. I’ve done it before and it is quite painful. Even though interval training isn’t quite the same as running, the important thing is to keep your body active and moving.

One thought on “The Horror of it All!: My Upcoming Running Events

  1. Iˇ¦ve read a few good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you place to make the sort of fantastic informative site.

Leave a Reply

