Why I Will NEVER Get a Gym Membership: My Experience at Active Fitness

Yesterday, I thought it would be a good idea to invest in a gym membership to get me more motivated to do some morning cardio (outside of my normal running routine). There is this gym called Active Fitness, which is conveniently located and open 24/7. Pretty cool, huh? That’s what I thought.

There are a few reasons why I waited so long to get a gym membership to begin with:
1)They are usually overly-priced.: Bally’s (a very reputable gym in my opinion) was priced at $80 a month while I was a member. I used the treadmill, elliptical machine, a yoga ball for abdominal workouts and small free weights. I bought a yoga ball, door way pull up bar, a yoga mat, resistance bands and a set of free weights for much less than what I payed to be a part of that gym for 2 months. My gym is my home/ neighborhood now 🙂

2) People who don’t spray down the equipment they use: GROSS! I hate it. It’s so inconsiderate to leave your sweat on equipment that you know other people will be using. Sooooo not cool. This is just very very annoying to me.

3) Waiting for equipment: I am a wam-bam-thank-ya-man type of gal. I just want to be in and out as quickly as humanly possible. I can’t do this if I always have to wait for equipment.

4) Locker rooms: I’m not ashamed of my body in any way what-so-ever. That’s not why I don’t like the locker rooms. What I don’t like are bugs (ie: roaches). They seem to like locker rooms because the abundance of water everywhere. I used to always be afraid that one of those bugs would find their way into my gym bag and then subsequently into my home. Ick!

5) Creepers: Now, this is why I didn’t get a gym membership from Active Fitness. I walk in and everyone was very nice and polite. I met a trainer who showed me around the place. The first thing that stuck me was his weight. When I think of a trainer, I think of someone who is at their physical peak. It was not this guy. Ok…. Cool…. I kindof know what I’m doing anyways, I don’t really need him as a trainer.
When I introduce myself to him, I say,”Hi, my name is Mary, I’m in the Army.” I usually don’t introduce myself as a member of the military. The only reason I do so is when I am not in the mood to be f@*ed with. I explained to him how I want to go to some pretty intense military schools, and I need to be at my best. He starts showing me around and gives me the whole bit about how wonderful their gym is.
After the talk, I go to shake his hand. This is where things get incredibly weird. Instead of shaking my hand he quickly grabs it and kisses it. Needless to say I was freaked the hell out. I retracted my hand quickly and gave him the wtf look. I don’t think that he realized that the gym’s owner was standing right behind him. Thank God he was there. Why? I had a strong urge to beat the mess out of him. I wouldn’t want to do that with a witness around….. Needless to say, I tore up the free pass I was given but not 5 minutes earlier and called him a creep. Additionally, I told him that I’m going to tell everyone I know to never go to this gym everrrr.
This is what I hate the most about gyms… Creepers. I just want to do my thing and get out. Don’t touch me. I don’t mind having a conversation if someone is so inclined to start one. But at very least please respect my physical boundaries. Is this too much to ask of males of my generation? I wonder sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Why I Will NEVER Get a Gym Membership: My Experience at Active Fitness

  1. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have offered
    to your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for starters. May just you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

    • Well, first off, thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my posts. I can actually go on and on when I write, but I choose not to for a few reasons. 1) The purpose of blog entries is to be short, sweet and to the point. They aren’t meant to go on an on and on forever and ever. This is because readers (and please correct me if I’m wrong) are going to get bored. 2) I’m pretty busy myself. So, in order to update my blog so frequently, I purposefully make my writing short to accommodate my own time schedule. 3) I’m sure that people who read this blog, also have a lot going on in life.
      If you think I have left anything out, or if you would like to add your thoughts to my posts, I would encourage you to comment on them. Again, ideally, I would like this blog to be more of a discussion on running rather than me going on… And on… And on. Additionally, I feel that I learn the most about running by discussing ideas and tactics with other runners. So, if you could go further on what you think I should be discussing more, I would be most appreciative. 🙂

Leave a Reply

