Before Running: Part II- What Not to Wear

Safety; it’s a word we use everyday in military. However, I find that the concept is oftentimes lost in the hustle and bustle of everyday life. This is especially true when runners take to the streets. For instance, when I went for my nightly run through my development last night, I noticed there were other athletes running in the street sans any type of reflective clothing. As silly as this may sound, this is incredibly dangerous. So, today I will be focusing on one safety consideration every athlete should keep in mind before hitting the pavement; what you are wearing. Today’s blog entry will focus on what Not to wear.

What not to Wear
I used to be addicted to this show. For many of you who may not be familiar with it, the main lessen that both watchers and participants are meant to walk away with is to be conscious of what you are wearing and how this factor can greatly effect your environment. This concept holds true when it comes to running.

“Oh sun, sun, Mr. Golden sun, please shine down on meeeee.”
Ok, yes, I still love this song. It just randomly came to mind when considering how light or dark it may or may not be outside. The important thing is to use common sense. Are you running when the is sun out, or is it dark outside? If its dark outside, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to pick up either a reflective vest or belt of some sort so that you are noticeable to drivers, as well as other athletes. Another good idea is to at very least stay away from dark colored clothing when running outside when its dark out. What I love about spibelts is that they come in bright colors (which is very convenient for nocturnal runners).

Another common sense mistake that many novice runners make is not considering the weather they are running in. Because your body naturally heats up as you run, it is often suggested that you dress as if its 20 degrees warmer than what it really is outside. For example, today was 45 degrees outside. So, I ran in a pair of sweat pants and a t-shirt.

Other things to consider when thinking about the weather is precipitation. Is it drizzling, raining, snowing or is it the seventh coming of Christ outside? Do you usually run on pavement or on the grass. If its the later, I would think about not running at all during adverse conditions. Why? Because you can fall and easily injure yourself.

However, if you’re like me, and refuse to not run every day, then I suggest you try to make sure you do wear reflective gear, have goggles when running through snow, that your shoes are in good condition and that they still has some type of traction on the bottom.

Va-va-Voom
Personally, I think it’s very cool and bold when a woman feels comfortable enough to go running in a sports bra and shorts/pants. However, this is an outfit I think should be saved for the gym, especially if you are a female who is a solitary runner. In a perfect world, women should be able to walk out of the house in a tube top and mini skirt and not feel uncomfortable, overexposed or self conscious about her well-being. Unfortunately, we don’t live in such a world. We live in a dangerous world full of crazies. So, I try to pray for the best and plan for the worst. Best case scenario; a cute neighbor takes notice to me and asks me out to dinner. Worst case scenario, I make myself overly noticeable and attract a dangerous stalker who tries to attack me while I am out running by myself.

With these things in mind I hope that readers will take into consideration what not to wear when taking to the great outdoors.

Leave a Reply

